Home About MISO Media Center MISO members elect three to board of directors

MISO members elect three to board of directors

Lange joins board for the first time, Currie and Johnson re-elected

For Immediate Release

November 15, 2018

Media Contact

Mark A. Brown

CARMEL, Ind. — Midcontinent Independent System Operator members have elected three directors to serve new, three-year terms on the organization’s board of directors beginning Jan. 1, 2019. Nancy Lange, current chair of the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission and an experienced energy planning and policy leader, was newly elected by the membership. Incumbent directors Phyllis Currie and Mark Johnson were re-elected to the nine-member body.

“We are fortunate to have an exceptional depth of experience across our board of directors,” said MISO Chief Executive Officer John Bear, who also sits on the board of directors. “Chair-Elect Currie, Director Johnson and Ms. Lange bring unique knowledge and leadership ability that will support MISO in its steadfast vision to be the nation’s most reliable, value-creating Regional Transmission Operator.”

The board election was held Sept. 27 through Nov. 2, with nearly 70 percent of members participating. The election results were announced at MISO’s Nov. 15 Informational Forum.

Ms. Lange was appointed to the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission in 2013 and her term ends at the end of 2018. Previously, she was director of energy programs at the Izaak Walton League of America and manager of policy and engagement at the Center for Energy and Environment in Minneapolis. Lange holds a bachelor’s degree from Iowa State University and a master’s degree in public policy from the University of Minnesota. Lange will fill the seat vacated by retiring director Michael Curran, who has served on MISO’s board since 2007.

Chair-Elect Currie was first elected to the MISO’s board in 2016. She currently chairs the Audit & Finance Committee. Previously, she was general manager of Pasadena Water and Power from 2001 to 2015. Director Johnson has also been a MISO board member since 2016. He currently serves as chair of the System Planning Committee. From 2006 to 2013, he served as vice president of Transmission Operations for Pacific Gas and Electric Co.

MISO’s board consists of nine independent directors and the CEO of MISO. The board is responsible for governing the organization, as required by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission’s Order No. 2000. Each member must meet specific qualifications to serve. As part of their board responsibilities, members serve on an array of committees to provide oversight and guidance to the organization in accordance with the best practices and principles of good corporate governance. More information about MISO’s leadership and board of directors is available at www.misoenergy.org/.