Home About MISO Media Center MISO Board of Directors Announces Departure

MISO Board of Directors Announces Departure

MISO Board of Directors Announces Departure

For Immediate Release

April 29, 2019

Media Contact

Julie Munsell

CARMEL, Ind. — The Midcontinent Independent System Operator on behalf of its Board of Directors has announced the departure of director Thomas Rainwater. Mr. Rainwater notified the Board that he intended to step down effective April 26, 2019 to pursue another board opportunity.  Because this opportunity is in a similar or related industry, he is precluded from also continuing as a MISO Board Member.  

“Tom has been very generous in sharing his broad experience with the board, MISO staff and our stakeholders over the last four years,” said MISO board chair Phyllis Currie. “On behalf of the MISO board of directors, we thank him for his service and wish him continued success.” 

Mr. Rainwater joined the MISO board of directors in January 2015 following a 30-year career in the energy industry, with 20 years in the electricity sector and 10 years in the natural gas sector. During his tenure, Rainwater chaired the MISO board of directors' corporate governance & strategic planning committee and the audit & finance committee.

Per MISO’s bylaws, vacancies on the board caused by a director leaving office, before the expiration of his term, shall be filled by vote of the board, which shall choose a candidate having the same type of qualifications as his predecessor from a list prepared by the nominating committee in consultation with an executive search firm chosen by the nominating committee. A director selected to fill such a vacancy shall serve out the term of his predecessor.

About MISO

MISO ensures reliable operation of, and equal access to, high-voltage power lines in 15 U.S. states and the Canadian province of Manitoba. MISO manages one of the world’s largest energy markets. MISO was approved as the nation’s first regional transmission organization in 2001. The not-for-profit organization is governed by an independent board of directors and is headquartered in Carmel, Indiana.